Welcome & Committees


I am pleased to welcome you to the IBS-hosted website for the XXVIIIth International Biometric Conference (IBC2016) to be held July 10–15, 2016 at the Victoria Conference Centre, Victoria, British Columbia, Canada. Here you will find regularly updated information on all aspects of the conference – the scientific and social programmes, registration and travel details, and much more.

The meeting is being hosted by the Western North American Region (WNAR). The Local Organizing Committee (LOC), led by Laura Cowen and Youyi Fong, is currently finalizing plans for the social programme, including a welcome reception, excursions, and a Thursday evening event.

Fred van Eeuwijk (RNed) chairs the International Programme Committee (IPC) has constructed a programme of invited sessions to cover the diverse interests within our Society. These will be augmented by several special sessions, including Biometrics and JABEShowcases, a Young Statisticians’ Showcase, an invited session from the ISI, and a Statistics in Practice Session inspired by the German Region’s development of this as an integral part of their regional meetings. The Education Committee, under Pascale Tubert-Bitter (FR), has selected the short courses that will be delivered on the Sunday before the main meeting.

Later this year we will launch the call for contributed talks and posters. These are the most important aspect of our meetings and offers an opportunity for everyone to present their work and demonstrate the exciting developments and applications of biometry throughout the world. Abstract submissions will be managed by staff at the IBS International Business Office (IBO) under our Executive Director, Dee Ann Walker.

This promises to be yet another great IBC in an outstanding location. I really hope that many of you will be able to make the trip, and join us. Be sure to bookmark this webpage, and visit it frequently to keep up-to-date with IBC2016 developments. So get planning that abstract.

See you in Victoria!

John Hinde Signature
John Hinde
International Biometric Society

2016 Committees